Nirvana

Peace be upon you.

If only everything in this world could be initiated with peace. People too. Well, of course this is far from reality and the truth. Silly me. The lines between thinking with our heads and with our hearts are hazy. We’re just too lost in the fumes. Thus, it is no surprise when conflicts arise. Conflicts are everywhere – In school, the workplace, and even our homes. It becomes like a game of tug-of-war; the harder you pull, and go head-on with the opponent, the stronger the tension. Question is; is it really worth our energy?

Personally, I try to avoid conflicts and confrontations at all costs. I tend to pick my fights, only pursuing it if I think it is worth my effort. I rather have the conflict resolved quickly then prolonging it. I refuse to give in to my ego. Even if it means I have to give in to the other party, even when I know i’ve done no wrong, as long as God knows, it’s all that matters. I can’t live with myself knowing people bear grudges and hard feelings towards me. Who wants enemies right?

Even the Word said it, “Love your enemies. Do good to those who curse you, pray for those who mistreat you.”

I’ve learnt that if you are able to find peace in this world, only then can you find peace and happiness within yourself. “Appearance of a man for whom the troubles of this world are over, and who was realizing the ecstatic bliss of a temporary Nirvana.” (The Illustrious Prince by Oppenheim, E. Phillips)

And it all starts with us. The art of letting go is essential. In line with the paradigm of tug-of-war, sometimes it is best to just let go, and relive the tension. You have to live in the present. Don’t dwell on what you should have done yesterday, rather, appreciate moments as they happen.

We gotta learn to trust Him and accept that there are some things that we can’t change no matter how hard we try. That some things are just against our nature and beyond our control. We should reconcile ourselves with this and just learn to accept.

Another aspect of letting go is forgiveness. To forgive others and ourselves. We all need to heal and grow and forgiveness is the first step.

Of course I get angry with people. Not reacting to the heat of the moment is definitely a challenge. But lately, i’ll just take a deep breath, regain my composure, think of Him and come back to the middle. It’s been really helpful. I always tell myself to be the bigger person and forgive. Likewise, when I make someone angry, saying sorry would be the first thing that i’ll say. Some conflicts and confrontations take a longer time to be resolved than others but as they say, time heals all wounds.

So will you take me there…to Nirvana? 

Only if you drive.

Leave a Reply

