Future or falter?

Well, well the million dollar question that I’ve been repeatedly hearing and getting from people is “what are you gonna do after you’re done with national service?” Oh, funny you may ask..(trepidation fills my lungs)

Truth be told, i’d get excited to tell people the path im gonna take in the future. But…lately the reactions I’ve been getting from people are far from encouraging. It’s really disheartening.

Apart from the people who ask, only my closest friends and family members are in the know of my chosen career path. They’ve been extremely supportive of my decision and that means the world to me.

So…what’s next for me? I’m fortunate and blessed to have been accepted into NTU-NIE’s Bachelor of Arts (education) 4-year degree programme. Yes, I’m going to be a teacher.

“But why? What happened to your passion in the media? Journalism?”

“Of all things, you choose to teach? Was it your last resort?”

“I thought you were capable of much better. Teachers nowadays aren’t the same anymore”

All the above, combined with looks of disgust, cringing and even smacking of the forehead were amongst the reactions I’ve received.

I mean, I understand that each person is entitled to their own opinion but is teaching so heinous? Does it deserve that kind of reaction, rather than recognition?

Firstly, yes I love being in media, but before that, I fell in love with language FIRST. English and the malay language. Secondly, no this was not my last resort. Not my 2nd last, neither was it my 3rd last.

The point is, as long as I’m doing something related to english or malay, hey, im happy.

Of course teachers today employ different teaching standards to keep up with the students of this generation. There’s no comparison there.

It’s just sad that there are people out there who still look down on teachers and teaching as a profession. I believe that they deserve much more recognition for shaping the foundation of students. It may seem biased coming from me, but I have always appreciated the teachers who’ve played a part in my education. For without them, I wouldn’t be where I am now.

I’ll just have to prove these people wrong. Prior to getting accepted, I asked god for a sign, to guide me to the path he deems best for me and this was it. I trust Him. I have no regrets. It’s not going to be easy, but I’ll give it my all.

Leave a Reply

