You’ve got a friend

You know the saying, ‘people and friends come and go’? Never did I see any truth to it until much recently (contrary to personal belief). As dispensable as inanimate objects are, now you say humans are too? That just baffles me. Oh how complicated and ironic life is in reality.

When you think you can count on someone, but that person just lets you down? Yeah it cuts so deep. Just because you know deep down that you’d go the extra mile for that friend. Then again, these are all expectations. Is it fair to strike someone off because they do not meet your expectations? Definitely not.

What I’m trying to get at is, is it worth all your effort, if it is not reciprocated? Your everything apparently is not enough, and means nothing to the other person. It is really really tiring. I’ve just reached the point where I’m done. By no means am I giving up, but I’m just gonna stop and leave the rest to Him.

He knows what’s best for me. He has my best interests at heart. I’ve invested everything to be a good friend. If that is still not enough, then I’ve got to let it go.

I always ask myself, is there something wrong with me? Why do the people that I care for so much have to leave.

And I came across this as I was reading; “My heart is at ease knowing what was meant for me will never miss me, and that what misses me was never meant for me.” (Imam Shafi’i)

As long as I have god and my family, that’s all that matters. Knowing this, my heart is at ease. Trust Him. Have faith.

Leave a Reply

