Friday

image

Once again, a two hour train ride back to the far east. So many thoughts in my head yet I aimlessly look around the vacant faces of people seated opposite me and I wonder what’s written on mine.

I try to match the lyrics of the songs playing in my ear while I imagine myself acting to every line. At this very moment; I see swimming pools and living rooms and aeroplanes. I see a little house on the hill with children’s names.

And so I do.

Fatigued. I choose to retire my smile after a long week. Not because I’m sad. But the realisation that i’m finally getting a break. From the world. Retreating to my place of comfort.

Now I understand. We all need a moment- to disconnect. In this case, for the weekend.

Leave a Reply

