Supplication, allusion & reflection

As the Imam chokes up on tears
Whilst leading the congregation
All of us in search
Of the night of power
Could tonight be the odd hour –

In a single moment
The skies are opened
Freed from worldly delusion
You welcome this conversation
And I recite your word
With my lips
Branded by the sins
Of my indisposition

My head bowed
In quiet prayer
An open invitation
To your mercy
And salvation

For my heart knows not;
While it fears
It still trusts
Remembering you
I shall be steadfast

image

Leave a Reply

