Counting breaths

10

A whirlwind of anxiety and angst that I am ashamed to admit, I cannot believe I let myself get to this stage. I just wanted everything to pass quickly so that I could wake up anew and pretend nothing happened.

9

Prentending that everything was okay; that was probably the toughest thing to do. If you are thinking that I’m trying to romanticise depression, trust me I’m not. There is nothing pretty or fashionable about feeling depressed. People think it is a phase but it’s not. It’s a mental condition. That’s what Mental Health Awareness week taught me.

8

Let downs and experiences with the people around me have also taught me to be stronger and learn to come to terms with the good and bad all around me. Indeed, better days are ahead 🙂

7

Once again, the skies, nature, sun, stars and the moon are constant reminders of His grandeur. I’ve returned to appreciate waking up every morning and greeting the new day with a smile and a fighting attitude.

6

We all have to fight for something at some point in our lives don’t we? It’s okay if we’ve not figured out what that something is. Some day, we will.

5

A friend told me in a cracked voice: how she believed that God put her through her rise and fall because He trusts that she is strong enough to endure the hardship and test of faith. I realise that strength resides in all of us. We just have to know how and when to use it.

4

I’m learning to trust myself more. One of my best friends told me, “Whatever you choose, I will support you”. Somehow I feel lighter. It truly takes just a handful of people and their words to help you see the world in a new light.

3

I am extremely excited for the path that lies ahead of me. No matter how I run, jog or simply walk along it, I will definitely stop and take a moment to savour the sound of leaves rustling in the wind and feel the breeze blowing through my hair and neck.

2

It’s a long journey but I’m looking forward to move on to the next chapter.

1

“Hey you’ve gotten this far. Breathe. You really did a good job” *pats own back*

Leave a Reply

