Reunion

Screen Shot 2017-06-04 at 11.35.13 AM

Ramadan is really special. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not trying to sound all saintly in this blessed month but truly it makes you feel things you would not have felt in other months. It’s as if this overwhelming spirit is moving my hand to write posts of this nature. I hope you understand 🙂

Somehow feelings get amplified. From extreme happiness to extreme despair, I always look fondly at this photograph and revel in the warmth and calmness I felt, amidst the whirlwind of emotions I was experiencing at that time.

It was right after my new friends and I were leaving the Prophet’s (PBUH) mosque on our first day in Madinah. These two boys caught my attention. They were setting up their moveable cartshop selling mini-Qurans and we decided to approach them. The brothers introduced themselves as Mohamed and Ahmed and we engaged in small talk. Before we left, I asked if we could get a photograph together, and both immediately opened their arms for me. Being in a foreign land and feeling that kind of genuine and sincere affection really touched my heart.

How can strangers make you feel so at home even when you’re so distant?

Leave a Reply

